Local Seafood

Increasingly consumers are paying attention to who, where and how food is harvested. It is easy to become overwhelmed with all of these questions, especially when it comes to seafood! With a majority of Alaskan seafood being exported out of state and a growing number of Alaskan consumers demanding local seafood, a disconnect between consumers and the local fishing industry exists today. In addition to this, many local fishermen face obstacles in maintaining a profitable business and some fishing operations are actually causing damage to our marine ecosystems.

Because of these issues, AMCC finds it important to support local, sustainable seafood caught by community-based fishermen. Learn more with these resources below.

What do all these terms mean?

Local [ˈlō-kəl]:

Seafood caught by Alaskan fishermen and purchased by Alaskan consumers.

Sustainable [sə-ˈstā-nə-bəl]:

Seafood caught in a manner that upholds the health of marine habitat and ecosystems. This means a minimization of: habitat damage, poor handling of fish, and waste.

Community-Based Fishermen [kə-ˈmyü-nə-tē-bāst fi-shər-mən]:

Fishermen who live and work in the communities where they fish.

Recipes & Preparation Tips

B0003171Cooking Techniques from AMSI: www.wildalaskaseafood.com/video-listing/cooking-techniques

Eat Alaska Recipes from ASMI: www.wildalaskaseafood.com/recipe-listing/eat-alaska

Fishes & Dishes: www.fishesanddishes.com

Techniques for Preserving Fish: www.uaf.edu/ces/foods/preservation/meatsfish

Wild Alaska Recipes from Sitka Salmon Shares: sitkasalmonshares.com/pages/recipe-listing

Restaurants Serving Sustainable Seafood in Alaska

AKMarine15_zps156feb46Bear Tooth Grill
Anchorage, AK
beartoothgrill.net

Seven Glaciers Restaurant
Girdwood, AK
www.alyeskaresort.com/dining/seven-glaciers-restaurant

*If your restaurant provides local, sustainable seafood please let us know and we will add you to our list!

Resources for Consumers

Future of Fish: futureoffish.org

LocalCatch.org: www.localcatch.org

Author, Paul Greenberg’s website: www.paulgreenberg.org

Santa Monica Seafood Guide: www.santamonicaseafood.com/seafood-guide

Sitka Local Foods Network: sitkalocalfoodsnetwork.org

Sustainable Seafood Guide for Consumers: www.seafoodwatch.org

University of Alaska Cooperative Extension: www.uaf.edu/ces

Other Community Supported Fisheries

crab3_zpse281bb44Alaskans Own: www.thealaskatrust.org/alaskans-own

Dock to Dish: docktodish.com

Drifters Fish: driftersfish.com

Morshovi Bay Fish Co. morshovifish.com

Sitka Salmon Shares: sitkasalmonshares.com

Skipper Otto’s Community Supported Fishery: www.skipperotto.ca

Other Organizations Engaged in Sustainable Seafood

AFPC LogoAlaska Food Policy Council: akfoodpolicycouncil.wordpress.com

Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute: www.alaskaseafood.org

Anchorage Food Mosaic: anchoragefoodmosaic.com

Boat to School: www.boat-to-school.org

Bristol Bay Sockeye/Bristol Bay Regional Seafood Development Association (BBRSDA): www.bristolbaysockeye.org

Chefs Collaborative: www.chefscollaborative.org

naknekfish logoCopper River Seafoods: www.copperriverseafoods.com

Eat LocAlaska: akfood.weebly.com

Kodiak Jig Seafoods: kodiakjig.org

Naknek Family Fisheries: naknekfish.com

Slow Fish Canada: slowfood.ca/slow-fish

Tidal Vision: tidalvisionusa.com

>> Keep in touch on local seafood issues and events through our monthly e-newsletter

facebook twitter twitter
© Copyright Alaska Marine Conservation Council
MAILING ADDRESS: PO Box 101145; Anchorage, AK 99510
PHYSICAL ADDRESS: 106 F Street; Anchorage, AK 99501
CONTACT US     (907) 277-5357